Diany Rodriguez talks about The In Between, what it was like working with such a big cast, and her upcoming projects (Exclusive)

“I filmed The In Between and it was the most scenes I had ever gotten in a movie, which is funny because I assumed I would film it and my scenes would get cut,” Rodriguez reveals.

Gracie Lowes

Gracie Lowes

Feb 21, 2022
Feb 21, 2022
Cover Image for Diany Rodriguez talks about The In Between, what it was like working with such a big cast, and her upcoming projects (Exclusive)

Valentine’s Day has come around another year, but with the holiday comes new romantic movies such as The In Between.

The In Between follows “Tessa (Joey King) who doesn't believe she deserves love until she meets Skylar (Kyle Allen.) When a car accident kills Skylar, Tessa searches for answers and thinks that Skylar is trying to connect with her from the afterworld. Tessa tries to contact Skylar one last time so their love story can have the ending it deserves.”

I had the chance to sit down (virtually) with Diany Rodriguez who plays Mrs. Duffy in the new Paramount+ film, to talk to her about her time on set, what this experience was like for her, what she hopes viewers take from the film, and more.

You can read the full interview below.

Photo credit: IMDB

Gracie: Congratulations on the release of “The In Between,” how has this release been for you?

Diany Rodriguez: There hasn’t been a lot of build-up for me. I did some ADR on one of my scenes and I just couldn’t believe that my scenes weren’t cut out of the movie, because that's what a lot of actors assume will happen.

G: Yeah for sure, the movie is out now on Paramount+ but for anyone who hasn’t seen the film, could you let people know what it’s about?

Diany: Yeah! The lead of the movie is Joey King, who plays a high-schooler who has a lovely boyfriend who has a very quick and intense connection. Sadly, her boyfriend dies in a car accident, but at some point throughout the movie, you realize that some entity is reaching out to her. She believes that this entity is the ghost of her boyfriend and you come to find out that it could be him because they live in an area between heaven and hell called the in between.

G: From the trailer, alone fans can tell that this is a very heartfelt and emotional movie, what do you hope viewers take from the film?

Diany: Even though it is a bit of an intense movie being a bit of a mystery, horror, love story, I hope that viewers take away that our loved ones always live on in our hearts and if and when they go, they’re going to want you to continue living your life. Also, if viewers haven’t met Joey King yet, I hope they get an introduction to her because she was so kind and sweet on set.

Photo credit: IMDB

G: You’ve been in TV shows and movies such as The Suicide Squad, The Blacklist, The Purge TV Series, but what has this experience been like for you?

Diany: For me, I filmed The In Between and it was the most scenes I had ever gotten in a movie, which is funny because I assumed I would film it and my scenes would get cut. But soon after filming this movie, I booked a second movie and I realized that it might be possible for me to be in movies which made me even more nervous because I had just switched medication for my mental health so I just couldn’t get it together. I remember at one point I had to go to my director and tell him I was sorry for not being focused and being out of it and he was so nice about it, but it made me realize how much people rely on you as an actor.

G: Talking about The In Between, you play Mrs. Duffy, could you tell fans a little bit about your character?

Diany: Joey King’s character is a gifted artist and my character plays her teacher. Mrs. Duffy sees something in her student, so she pushes her to go to a design school for her art. Mrs. Duffy just helps Joey’s character before and after the car crash and guides her through her grief.

G: There is a huge cast in this movie, do you have a favorite moment or memory from the set?

Diany: I do! Joey and I were doing a scene outside a coffee shop, and we were supposed to look like we were enjoying a warm spring day. But it was so cold and windy that our eyes were tearing up and we looked so sad. But we laughed the entire time and as soon as we heard the word “cut” wardrobe would run over and wrap us in warm stuff but the wind was so bad, especially for Joey since she had to wear wigs, but it was a fun time with lots of laughing.

G: If you could describe this film in three words what would they be?

Diany: Introspective, love, and unexpected.

G: Do you have any future projects that you could hint at or tell fans about?

Diany: Yeah I can do more than hint because I have another film that I did this past summer “The Valet'' which is planned to drop this summer on HULU.