Jayden McGinlay talks about “The Curious Case of Dolphin Bay”, what drew him to be apart of the film, future projects and more. (Exclusive)

“I have so many awesome memories on set! We shot the whole film in just 15 days but all of us clicked straight away and the whole cast and crew was just amazing,” McGinlay explains.

Gracie Lowes

Gracie Lowes

Jul 25, 2022
Jul 25, 2022
Cover Image for Jayden McGinlay talks about “The Curious Case of Dolphin Bay”, what drew him to be apart of the film, future projects and more. (Exclusive)

Disney is back with a new marine based mystery film that any age group can sit down and enjoy!

“The Curious Case of Dolphin Bay” follows “15-year old Quinn Perkins (Izabela Rose), who will be spending the summer working as an intern with her best friend Daniela (Ella Proberts). Mysterious events start to occur, and they assume that they are being haunted by local legend Everly Fallow.”

I had the chance to sit down (virtually) with actor Jayden McGinlay who plays “Teddy” in the new film, to talk to him about her time on set, what this experience was like for him, what he hopes viewers take from the film, and more.

You can read the full interview below.

Photo credit: @jaydenmcginlay on Instagram

Gracie: Congratulations on “The Curious Case of Dolphin Bay” finally being out How has this release and the days building up to the release been for you?

Jayden McGinlay: Thank you! It’s been really fun and I’m so excited that US audiences are getting to see what we made over here in Queensland, Australia! It was such a fun shoot and it’s really awesome that people are getting to watch it. It will be released in Australia in September but I’m really excited that America is enjoying it and we’re getting so much positive feedback!

Gracie: Can you tell anyone who hasn’t watched the movie yet, what it’s about and what to expect from it?

Jayden: In the film, four teens participate in a summer internship for marine biology. After Quinn and Daniela have a bit of a fallout, my character, Teddy, convinces Quinn to join him on an adventure. Then some mysterious events occur, and the two teens think they’re being haunted by a local legend. People who haven’t watched it are in for a really fun time and it’s for all ages, so a great family film. There’s mystery, adventure, and it’s also funny and heartfelt. It was filmed in Brisbane and the Gold Coast, so the audience will get to see some of our beautiful scenery here in Australia too!

Gracie: In the movie you play “Teddy”, could you tell us a little bit about your character?

Jayden: My character Teddy is determined to find the treasure and he’s driven, adventurous, and funny. He’s also a little dorky but still has integrity! He begins this awesome adventure with confidence and seems to have not a care in the world, but as the story progresses, we get to see different sides to his personality which I love.

Photo credit: @jaydenmcginlay on Instagram

Gracie: Do you have a favorite moment or memory from the set?

Jayden: I have so many awesome memories on set! We shot the whole film in just 15 days but all of us clicked straight away and the whole cast and crew was just amazing. It was like a big family on set, with such a great vibe. Bella, Ella, Allegra, and I became instant friends the first time we met, and we spent most of the time off camera laughing our heads off or making TikToks together. It was so much fun and on weekends we hung out and went hiking, went to each other’s houses/ hotels and played board games, had pizza, got ice cream and stuff like that. We all bonded really well, and I wish it went for longer as it was the most awesome time. I don’t think I have one specific favorite moment but my favorite memories for sure were just all those moments spent with those guys!

Gracie: What drew you to want to be a part of this project?

Jayden: Well immediately when I read the script, I knew it was going to be a really fun film to be a part of. I loved how much imagination and adventure there was in it and my character Teddy was so appealing as he’s so passionate, determined, enthusiastic, and funny. I knew it would be a really fun role to play and he shares a lot of my own personality traits. The script was light-hearted, so I knew it would be an exciting change to a few of the movies I’d worked on previously, which were horrors! I love horrors but this was an opportunity to show a different side of myself.

Photo credit: @jaydenmcginlay on Instagram

Gracie: If you could describe this film in three words, what would they be and why?

Jayden: If I could describe the film in three words I would use fun, mysterious, and heartfelt. It’s definitely lots of fun, there are some really funny moments in the film and Quinn and Teddy take you on an awesome journey. There’s definitely the aspect of mystery- without giving away too much, some strange events begin to occur, and the duo have to try and figure out what or who is behind those events. The film also explores friendships and shines light on issues about biodiversity.

Gracie: You’ve worked on both movies and tv shows, have you found that you prefer one over the other?

Jayden: Good question! I have been blessed to have really awesome experiences on both. I have worked more on films, and I absolutely love working on films because in most cases you have more time to shoot them than you do on each episode of a TV show. Personally, I watch more movies than TV shows, so I think I’d lean more towards movies, and I really want work on roles that I can get my teeth into, like complex characters in dramas. I look up to actors like Leonardo DiCaprio, Christian Bale, Andrew Garfield and Timothée Chalamet. I also love Marvel and DC. Who wouldn’t want to be a superhero?

Gracie: Do you have any future projects you could hint at or talk about?

Jayden: Stay tuned for the release date of “Children of the Corn” coming soon! That was filmed at the beginning of the pandemic in 2020 and I play Cecil who is one of the lead roles. It’s been long awaited and I’m really looking forward to seeing that and for people to see what we made during those crazy times!