Matthew Bridges talks about “Hollywood Stargirl'', his hopes for the sequel, and more. (Exclusive)

“I truly hope this movie helps to ignite a creative spark in people, and also highlight the power of kindness,” Bridges explains.

Gracie Lowes

Gracie Lowes

Jun 14, 2022
Jun 14, 2022
Cover Image for Matthew Bridges talks about “Hollywood Stargirl'', his hopes for the sequel, and more. (Exclusive)

Pack your bags and get ready… Stargirl is back for another heartwarming journey, alongside some new faces

“Hollywood Stargirl” follows Stargirl Caraway as she journeys out of Mica into a bigger world of music, dreams, and possibility.”

I had the chance to sit down (virtually) with actor Matthew Bridges who plays the role of Director of photography in the new film. We talked about his time on set, what this experience was like for him, future projects, and more.

You can read the full interview below.

Photo courtesy of Matthew Bridges

Gracie Lowes: Congratulations on “Hollywood Stargirl” finally being out! How has this release and the days building up to the release been for you?

Matthew Bridges: “Thank you, Gracie! I’m so excited that the film is streaming now on Disney+! I worked with these incredible people a little over a year ago, so it’s fun to get to relive the experience again and reminisce about the times on set.”

Gracie: The first film grew such a huge fanbase, for anyone who hasn’t

watched the sequel yet what can fans expect from it?

Matthew: “What’s great about this sequel is that all of the original heart and charm that fans resonated with in the first Stargirl film will find themselves charmed all over again by Grace VanderWaal’s wonderful performance as Stargirl, but this time, in sunny California! In Hollywood Stargirl, it really highlights the power of creativity and storytelling through different mediums.”

Gracie: In the film, you play “DP/Director of Photography,” could you tell us a little bit about your character?

Matthew: “The character of “DP/Director of Photography,” helps one of the other characters, Terrell (played by the amazing Tyrel Jackson Williams) set up his artistic vision for the film he is creating. It gets a little meta because myself and fellow actors Adam Foster Ballard and Geo Lee were cast as the ‘faux crew,’ since we are filming a movie within a movie, but we blended in with the actual crew on set.”

Photo courtesy of Matthew Bridges

Gracie: Do you have a favorite memory from your time on set?

Matthew: “Absolutely! My role had shifted a little bit, and after my initial shoot, they asked me back to add some extra scenes alongside Tyrel. When I arrived, the director, Julia Hart, had curated this wall of beautiful classic movie stills that our characters were to be going over as inspiration for the film within the film. Front and center was a still from the movie Singing In The Rain, which happens to be my favorite movie of all time AND one of the main inspirations for why I wanted to become an actor; so I may have geeked out a little bit. (laughs) For the next 20 minutes, Julia, Tyrel and I discussed classic Hollywood films like Moonlight, An American In Paris & Cooley High while the crew was setting up and it was such a special moment for me. At the end of the day, it truly felt like a full circle moment; to get to work on a film inspired by films I respect and admire with people who share that same adoration… that creative connection is what I love about this industry."

Gracie: What do you hope viewers take from the movie?

Matthew: “I truly hope this movie helps to ignite a creative spark in people, and also highlight the power of kindness. So much of the movie is about following your heart, and I think many people will be inspired to take on something that they haven’t gotten around to yet.”

Gracie: If you could describe this film in three words what would they be

and why?

Matthew: “Ooh, that’s tough! I’ll say, heartwarming, nostalgic & breathtaking. The REAL Director of Photography, Bryce Fortner, has made every frame of this movie look like a classic film in full, vibrant Cinemascope. Director Julia Hart and Bryce truly created stunning visuals to go along with the fantastic performances by the cast. You’ll never see LA look more beautiful!”

Gracie: Do you have any future projects you could hint at or talk about?

Matthew: “Random fact about me, I tend to be superstitious when it comes to talking about projects I’m involved in… don’t ever whistle around me if we’re backstage at a theatre together… (laughs) but I can say I’m filming something currently that I’ll be sure to talk about when it’s wrapped. Also, I love audiobooks and podcasts, and I’m currently developing and recording a thriller Audio Drama, The Underneath, which should be available on all audio streaming platforms later this year."